European Science Foundation 40th Anniversary

Home > Programme


The anniversary event to mark the European Science Foundation’s 40 years, which will take place on 15-16 May 2014 in Strasbourg, is by invitation only.  You will find the programme below.

All comments & questions should be addressed to: anniversary40[a]

DAY ONE - Thursday 15 May, 13:30 – 18:00

ERAGE, 4 rue Brûlée, 67000 Strasbourg, Auditorium – ground floor


| Opening of event by Professor Pär Omling, President and Martin Hynes, Chief  Executive


| Welcome by Mayor of Strasbourg - tbc


| Introduction by Professor Alain Beretz, President, University of Strasbourg


Round Table: ‘ESF’s Added-Value’,  moderator - Tim Radford (journalist & sicence writer)

- Markus Arndt, Institute of Experimental Physics, University of Vienna

- Helen Bridle, Heriot-Watt University

- Anne-Marie Glynn, EMBO, Heidelberg

- Jean-Pierre Henriet, Renard Centre of Marine Geology, Ghent University

- Maria Mota, Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Lisbon

- Ineke Stoop, the Netherlands Institute for Social Research



| Coffee break


| Panel:  'New Science: evidence-based research', moderator - Richard Hudson (Science Business)

- Bertil Andersson, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

- Godefroy Beauvallet, AXA Research

- Paul Boyle, Science Europe

- Dirk Helbing, ETH, Zürich

- Ingrid Wünning-Tschol, Bosch Foundation


| Key-note speech by Professor Jean-Marie Lehn (Nobel Prize Chemistry 1987)


Visit of Nobel laureates photographic exhibition by Peter Badge, Place Broglie, Strasbourg followed by cocktail offered by the City of Strasbourg at the Hôtel de Ville, 9 rue Brûlée, Strasbourg



| Buffet dinner
   Salle Mozart, 1, rue du Miroir (off Place Gutenberg), 67000 Strasbourg

DAY TWO - Friday 16 May, 09:00 – 12:00

European Science Foundation, Common Room, 1 quai Lezay-Marnésia, 67000 Strasbourg

09:00 – 12:00     

Gathering for present and former ESF staff



Dowload the Programme